Arrowmax Cup Rd3 report


The third round of the 2018 Arrowmax Cup Singapore Championship took place last weekend at the RCMC PA race track. In the Arrowmax Dash 13.5 Blinky class it was Daryl Thong (XRAY) who took the overall TQ ensuring him the pole position spot for the finals. In A1, it was a pretty challenging final between D.Thong and Kamen Koh (Serpent) as the gap throughout the 5 minutes was just about 1 second. However, D.Thong managed to drive a clean race and take the win. In A2 D.Thong managed to run away at the start and maintain a gap of about 2 seconds over K.Koh to the end of the race, again driving another clean final to take the overall victory for the day. D.Thong then sat out A3 as K.Koh and Sean Lee (Tamiya) battled it out for the remaining podium spots. The young S.Lee showed tremendous pace in this final as he kept bumper to bumper for the first half of the final. However a mistake over the curbs in the chicane caused him to go wheels up and slide off into the grass and by the time he recovered, K.Koh was well and clear in the lead by about half a lap to which he would hold on to the end of the race to secure second overall.

In the Formula class, Dominic Quek (XRAY) TQed despite only running one qualifying as he was focusing on the ISTC class. The finals were a lot more difficult. He had a DNF in A1 due to a technical problem, and rain during A2 postponed the final. In the A2 restart, an incident pushed him off the track into the grass, dropping me to the back of the field. However, D.Quek managed to close the 11 second gap to the leader and passed him to take the win on the last lap. A3 was thankfully less eventful, as D.Quek took the win by 12 seconds from Roy Chong in second and Andy Tan (XRAY) in third.

In ISTC A1, D.Quek had a contact with the pole sitter, PY Tang (ARC), as he moved to defend his position, resulting in him going off-track and his race was effectively over though he came back to take 2nd. In A2, a racing incident at the start of the race allowed the third placed driver to take the win. The deciding final was A3, where three drivers had a shot at the title. At this point, traction was low due to the rain and used tyres and D.Quek had yet another incident with the polesitter, ending both his hopes at the title. PY Tang took the win from Nicholas Lee (Yokomo) in second while D.Quek rounded out the top 3.

Source: XRAY