Caroli & Laubscher Win At SARDA Series Rd3


The third round of the 2018 South-African ORE 1/12th National Championship series was held at the Welkom RC Arena over the weekend. In 1/12 Modified Class, after missing the second round due to his host responsibilities at the pre-worlds, the local XRAY driver Antonio Caroli showed good early pace during practise with Marius van Niekerk, Shaun Schutte, Willie du Plooy and Wayne Joelson also running good fast laps. It was Caroli who managed to secure TQ with Marius van Niekerk and Willie du Plooy starting from second and third respectively. In the mains, it was Caroli who set the early pace in A1 and also managed to win A2 to secure the overall victory. van Niekerk showed great pace to take the second spot on the podium with Schutte securing a great third place after starting from 8th on the grid.

1/12 Modified Results

  1. Antonio Caroli (TQ) – XRAY X12
  2. Marius van Niekerk – XRAY X12
  3. Shaun Schutte – XRAY X12
  4. Francois Laubscher – XRAY X12
  5. Willie du Plooy – XRAY X12
  6. Rowan Bowar
  7. Brandon Solomon – XRAY X12
  8. Wayne Joelson
  9. Wade Solomon – XRAY X12
  10. Anderton Smith – XRAY X12

In 1/12 Stock Class, the qualification rounds saw a great battle between XRAY drivers Francois Laubscher and Pat Lester for the TQ spot. In Q1 and Q2 Laubscher got the win. Laubscher experienced some technical problems in Q3 and Lester was there to win Q3. Laubscher eventually put in a good run in Q4 to ensure his overall TQ. In the mains it was Laubscher winning with Lester close behind him and the lady driver Bianka Landman (XRAY) finishing on the podium in 3rd spot.

Source: XRAY