Alexander Hagberg crowned 1/12 European Champion


The 2018 European Championships in the 1/12 classes was held at the permanent race facility of Racing Arena Limburg. The event saw a record breaking turnout of 147 entries, split in modified and stock classes. In the modified class, XRAY’s Alexander Hagberg and Olly Jefferies set the pace already in practice. They went on to bring this pace into the qualifiers as well, as Alexander would win three, and Olly two of the five qualifiers. Alexander was awarded the TQ position, having the tie break with the faster time from his Q2 run.

A1 didn’t go exactly to plan for Alexander, as a screw fell out of his rear pod a few minutes in, causing his car to become undrivable, and he had to settle for a DNF in A1. With all screws fully tighetened down, the pressure was on for him to recover in the remaining two finals. Alexander managed to win A2 and A3 from tone to tone. The car handled well even when the grip levels decreased in the afternoon, and this definitely made my job easier in the finals. This meant that Alexander won his 5th consecutive EFRA European title. Olly Jefferies in second and Ollie Payne in third rounded out the top 3.

Modified final result:

  1. Alexander Hagberg – XRAY X12 2018
  2. Olly Jefferies – XRAY X12 2018
  3. Ollie Payne
  4. Michal Orlowski
  5. Markus Hellquist – XRAY X12 2018
  6. Alexandre Laurent
  7. Hupo Hönigl – XRAY X12 2018
  8. Mark Stiles
  9. Markus Mobers
  10. Adam Catchpole