Italian GT12 Series Rd2 report


The second round of the inaugural season of the Italian GT12 Series 2017/2018 took place in Scandiano. The perfect conditions and the high grip of the beautiful RC Landia track welcomed the growing crowd of GT12 drivers in Italy. The Series will unfold through six rounds (best 4 scores count) across northern Italy. The four qualification rounds held during the morning saw Team Schumacher’s Mattia Dall’Oca setting the pace and dominating all rounds with massive consistency and speed which was ultimately worth the best lap of the day with 13.251 seconds. Locking the first row for the A-mains, Alessandro Cellini clinched P2 with a faultless drive in Q4, while Alessandro Rampini was a very close third. These three drivers being the only ones able to deliver 26-lap runs over the traditional 6 minutes race.

The action packed A-mains delivered some very close racing, not only at the top of the ranking, but for lower spots as well. After plain sailing in A1, it seemed business as usual for Mattia, but a faultless, fast and smart driving from Lorenzo Bigi, allowed the experienced Team Schumacher’s driver to recover from P4 on the grid (with breath-taking overtakes along the way) in A2 and A3 and seal the win in both mains and the overall win for Round 2 of the Series with it. Alessandro Cellini continued with the good form showed in the Qualification rounds to secure the lower place on the podium.

The Series will next move up north to Bolzano (outdoor – asphalt) for Round 3 on May 13th, 2018.

Round 2 Results (Top 3):

  1. Lorenzo Bigi (Team Schumacher) – Schumacher Atom CC
  2. Mattia Dall’Oca (Team Schumacher) – Schumacher Atom CC
  3. Alessandro Cellini (Racing Mini Car Fiorano) – Schumacher Atom CC

Overall standings (Top 10) after 2 of 6 rounds (best 4 scores count):

  1. Mattia Dall’Oca (Team Schumacher) – 299 points
  2. Alessandro Rampini (Treerremodellismo) – 296 points
  3. Roberto Rampini (Treerremodellismo) – 292 points
  4. Lorenzo Sandonini (Treerremodellismo) – 290 points
  5. Alessandro Giubbilei (Jokerteam – Bolzano) – 289 points
  6. Lorenzo Bigi (Team Schumacher) – 150 points
  7. Alessandro Cellini (Racing Mini Car Fiorano) – 148 points
  8. Johnny Orsolin (Jokerteam – Bolzano) – 147 points
  9. Pietro Botti (Racing Mini Car Fiorano) – 146 points
  10. Claudio Giovanelli (Jokerteam) – 144 points