Caroli & Laubscher wins at SARDA Rd5


The final round of the 2017 South-African ORE 1/12th national championship series was held at the Welkom RC Arena over the weekend. With the new track build for the IFMAR 2018 worlds on track, this was the last official event to be hosted at the current indoor facility. To make the weekend more special, the 1/12th Nationals was combined with a Nandos Challenge in the style of a Reedy Format racing for Touring Modified and Pro-stock class

1/12th Scale Modified

The qualifying rounds showed great racing by the XRAY team mates Shaun Schutte, Antonio Caroli and Hein Kotze and it was Antonio who managed to take the TQ honours followed by Shaun Schutte and Hein Kotze for the grid. In A1 on Sunday it was Antonio who took a great win followed by Shaun Schutte. In A2 Antonio retired from the race and after Shaun Schutte made a mistake the young Marius van Niekerk took a great win. In A3 Antonio had to fight hard after a mistake and an accident with a back marker to win the final main and the event. It was Shaun Schutte and Marius van Niekerk who completed the podium for the event.

1/12th Stock (13.5 Blinky)

The final 1/12th Stock round was going to be a battle between the youngsters Francois Laubscher and Brandon Solomon for the 2017 title. Brandon had to TQ and win to win the title. In the qualifying rounds it was Brandon who showed great pace and consistency and he managed to take the TQ honours from Francois. On Sunday it was Francois who sorted out the pace on his XRAY X12 and he drove great in all three A finals to take victory from Brandon and Wayde Solomon. Francois Laubscher also took the 2017 title with this win.

1/12th Scale Modified A-Main:

  1. Antonio Caroli (TQ) – XRAY X12
  2. Shaun Schutte – XRAY X12
  3. Marius van Niekerk – XRAY X12
  4. Willie du Plooy – XRAY X12
  5. André Greeff – XRAY X12

1/12th Scale Stock A-Main:

  1. Francois Laubscher – XRAY X12
  2. Brandon Solomon (TQ) – XRAY X12
  3. Wayde Solomon – XRAY X12
  4. Gerry Esterhuizen – XRAY X12
  5. Patrick Lester – XRAY X12

Nandos Challenge (Reedy Style Racing)

The Nandos Challenge was held as part of the farewell event for the current Welkom Indoor Facility. 6 Rounds of heads-up racing were held on Saturday and three rounds on Sunday.

Touring Modified:

  1. Ashley Hurley – XRAY T4
  2. Antonio Caroli – XRAY T4
  3. Anderton Smith – XRAY T4

Pro-stock Touring:

  1. Brandon Solomon – XRAY T4
  2. Anthony Smith – XRAY T4
  3. Amanda Barnard – XRAY T4