EFRA 1/10 Electric Track European Championships Report


Unseasonable rain here in Spain put the drivers (and their cars) in a spin untl the sun came out and normal service was resumed. We crowned 3 European champions today with great racing in all classes.

ISTC Modified

With the first A final held about 90 minutes after the rain stopped grip was beginning to return to the Almusafes track. However neither of the front row starters could find any traction and it was Marc Rheinard who shot into the lead, which he held for the entire 5 minutes. Behind him Bruno Coelho clung on to his 2nd place starting position, but Pole man Ronald Volker had a nightmare spinning out 4 times before retiring from the race.

Leg 2 in contrast was a walk in the park for Ronald and he easily won on a now grippy surface from Bruno in 2nd again with Marc in Third.

Leg 3 saw another masterclass from Ronald though Bruno’s attempt to claim a first European title was scuppered by a second corner mistake that put him behind Rheinard for the first 2 minutes and once past he was too far back from Volker. Ronald stroked it home to take his 8th European championship and retain his title from last year.

The full top 10 is below

  1. Ronald Volker 2 DE
  2. Marc Rheinard 4 DE
  3. Bruno Coelho 4 PT
  4. Alexander Hagberg 7 SE
  5. Viljami Kutvonen 9 FI
  6. Elliott Harper 10 GB
  7. David Perez Perez 12 ES
  8. Loôc Jasmin 14 FR
  9. Viktor Wilck 15 SE
  10. Thomas Vigneron 16 FR

Spec Class (13.5T Blinky)

Alexandre Duchet made light of the tricky conditions winning the first 2 legs of the A final to secure his first European Title. The French Xray driver was never headed, as he surprisingly beat pre-race favourite and reigning champion Jan Ratheisky. Behind them Jimmy Maddison was left to rue some bad luck as other peoples mistakes saw him punted out of contention in 2 of the 3 legs

The full top 10 is:

  1. Alexandre Duchet 2 FR
  2. Jan Ratheisky 5 DE
  3. Andrea Valerio 6 IT
  4. Steve Favrelle 6 FR
  5. Jimmy Maddison 7 GB
  6. Tom Krägefski 9 DE
  7. Julien Jost 11 FR
  8. Max Mächler 12 DE
  9. Carlos Fernandez Espinosa 13 ES
  10. David Rebollo 16 ES

Formula 1

Jan Retheisky retained his championship with ease once the track dried but only after an awful first leg saw him is serious danger of losing. however the German recoverd to post two imperious wins in legs 2 and 3 to claim the title. Oliver Bultynck was unstoppable in the damp first race and backed it up with a 2nd in Leg 3 to claim runner up spot.

The full top 8 is below

  1. Jan Ratheisky 2 DE
  2. Olivier Bultynck 3 BE
  3. Martin Hudy 5 SK
  4. Hector Albarracin 7 ES
  5. David Ehrbar 7 DE
  6. Ivan de La Calle 7 ES
  7. Luke Lee 10 GB
  8. Jean-michel Varinard 12 FR