PROTOform WCICS Finale report


The final round of the 2016/2017 PROTOform WCICS went down in Calgary, Alberta. Being the final round of the series it was also time to crown series champions with strong finishes from XRAY including a Championship Sweep in 12th Scale Stock with the X12 taking 1st, 2nd and 3rd!

Touring Stock

Touring Stock saw Pittman and Mah battling during qualifying for that top position with Pittman taking the first honors in qualifying round 1 with a 31/5:06 pace. Wayne Mah, not to be outdone, came out swinging in round 2 and laid down a blistering 31/5:01 to reset TQ. Being that WCICS changed it format this year to 3 qualifiers with triple/double mains it meant that the final chance to grab TQ was up next in round 3. Perhaps the most exciting round of the weekend, Mah and Pittman both ran nearly flawless runs with Pittman taking the edge with a final pace of 31/5:00.5 over Mah’s 31/5:00.9. Each of the two had a fast lap of 9.41 which set the stage for some exciting racing in the mains. Pittman made a crucial mistake at the start of A3 allowing Mah and a few other cars to get by. In A2 Pittman led for a couple of laps before some unfortunate contact with Mah causing a body-tuck and sliding him to last. While Mah ended up winning A2 he also voluntarily removed his result for that main, setting the stage for A3. In order to get the overall win, Pittman had to take the win with Mah finishing 3rd or worse, which would be a long shot considering Mah’s history. Pittman held off Mah for the full five minutes of A3 but the second place finish for Mah beat Pittman’s 3rd place finish in A1 thus giving him the overall win. Not forgotten was Jim Chapman laying down solid runs in all 3 mains for a solid third podium position.

TC Stock Top 5

  1. Wayne Mah
  2. Luke Pittman – XRAY
  3. Jim Chapman – XRAY
  4. Ryan Berry
  5. Lance Radkey

2016/2017 PROTOform WCICS Season Touring Stock Champions:

  1. Wayne Mah
  2. Luke Pittman – XRAY
  3. Ryan Berry

Touring Modified

In Touring Modified Wayne Mah dominated but not without a strong challenge from XRAY’s Blake Bell. Bell and Mah traded hotlaps back and forth all weekend but Mah was able to string a few more hotlaps together in the mains to take the overall win. Bell was close to secure the second podium position and Pittman, Chapman and Scales were all close in the battle for XRAY as well with Pittman taking two 3rds, Chapman taking a 3rd and 5th and Scales taking a 2nd and a couple DNF.

TC Modified Top 5

  1. Wayne Mah
  2. Blake Bell – XRAY
  3. Luke Pittman – XRAY
  4. Ryan Berry
  5. Jim Chapman – XRAY

2016/2017 PROTOform WCICS Season Touring Modified Champions:

  1. Wayne Mah
  2. Blake Bell – XRAY
  3. Luke Pittman – XRAY

12th Scale Stock

In a dominating performance in 12th Scale Stock 13.5, XRAY’s Luke Pittman TQ’d each qualifying round to secure himself the starting position on the grid going into the mains. Jim Chapman and Earl Towson both had strong showings in qualifying setting the stage for a solid X12 finish. Pittman was able to cruise to back to back wins in A1 an A2 giving him the overall win and leaving Jim and Earl to continue the battle to represent XRAY. Ultimately Jim was able to take the second podium position with some very close battles with Tommy Tam and Earl Towson finishing in the fifth position.

12th Scale Stock 13.5 Top 5

  1. Luke Pittman – XRAY
  2. Jim Chapman – XRAY
  3. Tommy Tam
  4. Cal Freeman
  5. Earl Towson – XRAY

2016/2017 PROTOform WCICS Season 12th Scale Stock Champions:

  1. Luke Pittman – XRAY (With a perfect season of 404 points)
  2. Ryan Rice – XRAY
  3. Earl Towson – XRAY

Formula 1

In Formula 1 XRAY’s Korgae Scales set TQ in round 1 which held through until the mains. In A1 Korgae went tone to tone to take the win, setting himself up for a solid finish. A2 was a different story though with Ed Mardones edging out Scales by 3 seconds to take the win and giving Korgae a second which would put the final results in the finishing order of A3. Korgae Scales once again repeated his tone to tone performance in A3 staying ahead of Mardones by 2.5 seconds at the finish line, giving him the overall win for the weekend.

Formula 1 Top 5

  1. Korgae Scales – XRAY
  2. Ed Mardones
  3. Cal Freeman
  4. Steve Wiens
  5. Edmond Lee

2016/2017 PROTOform WCICS Season Formula 1 Champions:

  1. Korgae Scales – XRAY (With a perfect season of 404 points)
  2. Edmond Lee
  3. Alex Pate