Norwegian Cup Rd3 report


Martin Sørlie won the third round of the Norwegian Cup at Trondheim in Norway. Here is his report:

“It was with the expectations of a child on Christmas eve, I travelled to round three of the Norwegian Cup series held in Trondheim, Norway’s third biggest city. The track was built in a sports arena with a brand new carpet, and Sorex 28s with JB foams were the control tire, so we expected very good conditions during the weekend.

I had worked a lot mentally for this race to have the right mindset, and to stow away my bad habits from offroad buggies. I had also worked on perfecting my pre-race prep, to make sure the car was up to the task. Bodies have been something to figure out, and now I had the Mazda Speed 6 body mounted 5mm forwards. The car was absolutely awesome the whole weekend. During saturdays warmup/club-race, I TQ’ed and won ahead of last rounds winner Andreas Daving (Yokomo), and allround racing hero Ketil Pettersen (Yokomo).

For sundays race, the round by round format of qualifying caught me out. The car was a bit slippery, so by lowering the rear differential and inner rear link for the last qualifier, I put together a run two seconds faster than TQ-man Andreas, but he had two TQ-runs to my one. I did a 25 lap 5.09 run, with a best lap of 12.156 and an average of 12.360. This would put me fifth on the grid in the modified class, so I was very happy with both the car and my mentality that had really paid off.

Through the three actionpacked finals, I clearly had the faster car, and with plenty of luck and a little bit of skill I managed to win the last two finals and with it the overall win on sunday. I was truly stoked to do the double, and I feel fired up and prepared for next weekends ETS round in Germany.”

Overall Results – Stock:

A – 1. Martin Sørlie – Team Magic E4RS III Plus / HRC Racing
A – 2. Ketil Pettersen
A – 3. Andreas Daving
A – 4. Alexander Gjemble
A – 5. Are Belsaas
A – 6. Jørgen Pettersen
A – 7. Jacek Lipiec
A – 8. Kim Reitan
A – 9. Asbjorn Valso
B – 10. Stig Tore Svee
B – 11. Ketil Aalberg
B – 12. Bernt Winther