RugRacers Series Rd5 report


The penultimate round of RugRacers was about to get underway on a freezing cold morning. Whilst we don’t normally talk much about the RugRacers team it was noteworthy that due to limitations from the facility the day before they got the whole thing setup in just under 2 hours about an hour faster than usual, on behalf of the team many thanks to those that came in early to help with the setup ahead of the club night allowing both to run smoothly.

Controlled practice was the 1st order of the day then straight into the qualifying format of 4 rounds of FTD.

GT12 and Champion elect Tim Hancock was out fastest improving his FTQ time each run leaving Neil Mottram, Owen Smith & Stuart Dye fighting over 2nd place ahead of the 2 Leg finals. Leg 1 saw Tim take full advantage of his earned pole position with a faultless drive to the flag, aided by lots of fighting happening immediately behind him allowed him to lap the whole field. Leg 2 was a closer affair with Owen pushing Tim hard, a small mistake dropped him down the order but he was able to charge back through the field to 2nd leaving Tim with another win but a smaller margin.

17.5 Blinky, Matt Worton would post FTQ for each round taking pole, the top 5 cars being so close that Aaron Rose was 2/10ths behind after Round 2 & 3 cars within .5secs of each other in Round 4. Leg 1 would ultimately go to Colin Jackson after a race long battle for the lead with Matt Worton who crashed on the final lap to tumble down from 1st to 4th. Leg 2, Matt held his nerve & the lead to take a tone to tone win ahead of Ricky & Jakub finishing within 1 sec of each other giving Ricky the overall win.

2nd, Matt Worton, 1st, Ricky Copsey, 3rd, Aaron Rose

F1, Extra competition saw Olli Payne & Shaun Batt joining F1 for this round, Luke Lee with the title now in the bag was enjoying the close challenge of Ollie with Luke setting the early pace only to be pegged back by Ollie who would take Pole, Leg 1 would be taken by Ollie with a controlled drive to the flag, Leg 2 was a battle at the top again with Luke taking the win from Ollie, Remo of MoodyFools making it up to 3rd from 6th on the grid with a superb drive.

2nd, Luke Lee, 1st, Ollie Payne, 3rd, Remo “MoodyFools” Casadei

13.5 Open, Marcus Askell set the early pace for Dean Gibbs to improve then Ashley Wiffen to stretch out an extra second to take pole ahead of the finals. Leg 1 went to Dean Gibbs after putting the pressure on managed to get past Ashley to take the win, Leg 2 went to Marcus up from 3rd on the grid with a clean drive to the flag.

2nd, Dean Gibbs, 1st, Ashley Wiffen, 3rd, Macus Askell

A look through the field saw the juniors in all classes finish as follows:


Owen Smith 2nd A Final
Daniel Robins 2nd B Final
Darcie Smith 7th B Final
Jake Vincent 11th B Final
Shane Chipolina 1st C Final
Preston Eldridge 4th C Final
Ethan Southall 5th C Final
Holly Cook 6th C Final

17.5 Blinky

Adam Southgate 6th B Final
Frazier Tucker 2nd D Final