Mibosport Cup 2016/17 Rd3 report


Race report by Kaja Novotny:

The first big race of 2017 took place last weekend in Hrotovice – 3rd round of Mibosport Cup! Organisers prepared this time very nice offroad track, which was really fun to drive. In 2wd practice Martin Bayer and his XB2 were the only ones who managed to get under 51 sec time per 3 laps, behind of him it were XB2s of Martin Wollanka and Hupo Honigl. I was a litle bit struggling with low traction in the beginning, but managed to get 5th place after practice!

In qualifications TOP 5 was pretty close, but Martin Bayer‘s super fast run in Q3 meant that overall TQ went to Martin with Hupo in 2nd, Martin Wollanka in 3rd and me 4th! 2wd finals were battle of Martin and Hupo for the win, in the end Martin Bayer took the overall win, congrats! Hupo finished 2nd and Martin 3rd – TOP 3 for XB2! For me finals went pretty bad with many contacts with other drivers and some driving errors, which resulted in the 5th place!

2wd TOP 10:

  1. Martin Bayer (TQ) – XRAY
  2. Hupo Honigl – XRAY
  3. Martin Wollanka – XRAY
  4. Daniel Kobbevik – Yokomo
  5. Kaja Novotny – XRAY
  6. Maximillian Hauenschild – XRAY
  7. Marek Schiller – PR
  8. Max Gotzl – XRAY
  9. Ales Bidovsky – XRAY
  10. Peter Loncsar – Yokomo

In 4wd practice XB4´17 of Martin Wollanka set the fastest time over 3 consecutive laps ahead of XB4s of Martin Bayer, Hupo Honigl and me! Qualifications were super close and in the end it was again Martin Wollanka who set the fastest time in Q2 and took overall TQ ahead of Martin and Hupo! Overall after qualifications, 9 XB4s got into the A-main!

In finals it was again the same TOP 3 which fought for the win! However this time Martin Bayer managed to take the win with Martin Wollanka in 2nd and Hupo in 3rd, congratulations! I missed the podium by one point and finished 4th!

4wd TOP 10:

  1. Martin Bayer – XRAY
  2. Martin Wollanka (TQ) – XRAY
  3. Hupo Honigl – XRAY
  4. Kaja Novotny – XRAY
  5. Ales Bidovsky – XRAY
  6. Daniel Kobbevik – Yokomo
  7. Christian Landl – XRAY
  8. Milan Mudra – XRAY
  9. Zdenek Miksovsky – XRAY
  10. Roland Hauleitner – XRAY

Martin Bayer says: ‘’On the last weekend I had my first race for this year on my busy schedule. It was very the popular Mibosport Cup series. The entry list was full of very good drivers. This time also my team mates Martin Wollanka and Hupo Honigl came, so entertaining and competitive race was expected. I arrived on Friday to do some practice with guys. The first practice race between us was very tight. Qualification has been up and down. But in the end I managed to TQ with XB2 and 2nd with XB4. The car felt great for mains so I was ready to fight. Hupo won the first mains in both classes. He was very confident for second mains but I was ready to fight. After a strong fight I won the second main in both classes. Last mains were coming and the game was still on. In 2wd it was between me and Hupo. We had a very nice fight but I was a little faster and manage to win. In 4wd everything was open. All three of us could win. Since the start I was pushing strong on Martin Wollanka. In the end I managed to overtake and continue leading to the end. I was super happy. First race this year and double win. Couldn’t be better. My XB4´17 and XB2C´17 have been really good since first practice.’’

Tomáš Lipták, the leader of the overall ranking, has shown again a great performance as the fastest driver in practice and he also took the TQ and won the race.

1/12 TOP 10:

  1. Tomáš Lipták – XRAY X12
  2. Thomas DVORSZKY – XRAY X12
  3. Aleš PELIKÁN
  4. Wolfgang REICHEL – XRAY X12
  5. Thomas GÖSCHL – XRAY X12

The leader of the overall ranking was victorious again, Herbert Weber.

Formula TOP 10:

  1. Herbert Weber
  2. Lukáš HOCH
  3. Thomas DVORSZKY
  4. Peter MIKO – XRAY X1
  5. Rajki BALINT – XRAY X1

Since the first Practice the duo of Philipp Neudinger and Tom Krägefski started to fight for the lead ahead of the rest of the field of 35 drivers. Tom was fastest after practice, but again Phillip secured the TQ by just 0,08s in front of Tom, followed by Rajki, Alexander and Michael. In the Finals Philipp could defend his qualified position and took the win in A3.

Stock LRP TOP 10:

  1. Philipp Neudinger
  3. Rajki BALINT – XRAY T4
  4. Alexander MAYER
  5. Oliver HAVRÁNEK – XRAY T4

In modified class Dominic Vogl took the chance to win his first race in the current Season in front of Kuba Simurda and the young XRAY driver Oliver Havranek.

Modified TOP 10:

  1. Dominic VOGL
  2. Kuba ŠIMURDA – XRAY T4
  3. Oliver HAVRÁNEK – XRAY T4
  4. Nico HAIDER – XRAY T4
  5. Matěj ŠULC