CWIC XRS UK Rd3 report


Sunday the 11th of December has seen round 3 of the increasingly successful CWIC XRS (XRAY Racing Series) United Kingdom get started at 8am when the doors opened to the Christie Miller Sports centre in Melksham Wiltshire. Just over 100 entries were received for round 3 across the classes which for the lead up to Christmas is impressive. With that racers had some great choice with other races to attend on the same day with the 12th Nationals and EWS both clashing with the CWIC XRS. Yet we didn’t have a more than expected drop in attendance so thank you for the support of the racers who attended to make it another great CWIC XRS!

As usual the track layout and pits looked great. Fast but technical track which challenged the best drivers and rewarded everyone when they got it right! We all need to thank the Chippenham club, Big G Racing, RC Disco, Hobbywing, XRAY and Hudy for their support and work to get the CWIC XRS back to being a go-to series.

As in previous rounds the ever popular Hobbywing ProStock 13.5 class is the most popular by a long way, attracting well over a 100 racers to the class over the series so far. Round 3 has seen some new faces on the podium due to some notable Team XRAY absences being away on other XRAY duties.

Top qualifier Dan Blake converted that into a overall round 3 win with wins in both legs of the finals. Closely followed by Chris Gunter and BGR’s Mark Giaquinto. Notable A final appearances for Liam Hammond and Alex Everett getting the chance to break into the A final for round 3.

  1. Dan Blake – XRAY T4
  2. Chris Gunter.
  3. Mark Giaquinto – XRAY T4
  4. Shaun Ogden.
  5. Andy Travis.
  6. Shaun Batt.
  7. Glenn Westwood.
  8. Liam Hammond.
  9. Alex Everett.
  10. Jon Seals – XRAY T4

Formula seen Dan Blake make the double in rd 3 with a overall win taking the flag in both finals. This round seen Luke Lee in attendance challenging Dan to make a great race of the finals.

  1. Dan Blake – XRAY X1
  2. Luke Lee – XRAY X1
  3. Joe Keaveney – XRAY X1
  4. Jonathan Simblet- XRAY X1
  5. Remo Casadei- XRAY X1
  6. Kobus van der Westthuizen

GT12 was again the second strongest class at this years CWIC XRS. Series newcomer Tom Hampson took the overall win with back to back wins in the finals closely followed by Chris Gunter and Sam Exton.

  1. Tom Hampson
  2. Chris Gunter
  3. Sam Exton
  4. Jonathan Simblet
  5. Tony Wade
  6. Phil Vickers
  7. Mark Bruton-Young
  8. Daniel Sparrow
  9. Adrain Parkes
  10. Paul Beecroft