SARDA 2016 On-Road Electric Nats Champs finale report



The 2016 season of the South African On-Road Electric National Championship is complete and Team Xray SA managed to crown 4 x SA National Champions and 4 x vice champions: (f.l.t.r) Jason Hillcoat (Touring Modified), Shaun Schutte (Pro-stock 13.5T), André Greeff (1/12 Mod), Pedro de Gouveia (F1).

Touring Modified

Jason Hillcoat managed to defend his title with a great start to the season making it now four in a row with his Xray teammate Shaun Schutte achieving the title of vice-champion.


The top 10 for Touring Modified for 2016:

  1. Jason Hillcoat (Xray) – Champion
  2. Shaun Schutte (Xray) – Vice Champion
  3. Antonio Caroli (Xray)
  4. Ashley Hurley (Xray)
  5. Anderton Smith (Xray)
  6. Alex Ribeiro (Team Magic)
  7. Willie du Plooy (Xray)
  8. André Greeff (Xray)
  9. Pedro de Gouveia (Xray)
  10. Willie Noordman (Xray)

Pro-Stock (13.5T)

The competition during the season was tough with only three points separating the top two drivers. It was Shaun Schutte (Xray) who managed to take the title at the last event with Deon Gove (Xray) managing the vice-champion title.


The top 10 for Pro-Stock (13.5T) for 2016:

  1. Shaun Schutte (Xray) – Champion
  2. Deon Gove (Xray) – Vice Champion
  3. Jonathan Wilken (Xray)
  4. Hennie Viljoen (VBC Racing)
  5. Juan Wessels (Associated)
  6. Danie Botha (Xray)
  7. Jared Rabe (Xray)
  8. Paul van der Westhuizen (Team Magic)
  9. Michael Rabe (Xray)
  10. Fanie Viljoen Snr (VBC Racing)

1/12th Modified

Xray Teammates Shaun Schutte, Willie du Plooy, André Greeff and Willie Noordman had a great battle throughout the season but it was André Greeff who managed to win the championship with a small margin.


The top 5 for 1/12 modified for 2016:

  1. André Greeff (Xray) – Champion
  2. Willie du Plooy (Xray) – Vice Champion
  3. Willie Noordman (Xray)
  4. Shaun Schutte (Xray)
  5. Raymond Loots (Xray)

Formula 1 (21.5 blinky)

In the first official season of the return of F1 to the SARDA calendar, it was Xray Teammates Pedro de Gouviea, Jonathan Wilken and Tyronne Wilken who challenged for the championship. With good consistent performances in the beginning if the season Pedro managed to get a good enough lead to win the championship by round 4 already. Jonathan and Tyronne Wilken kept on developing and started competing at the end of the season.


The top 5 for F1 for 2016:

  1. Pedro de Gouveia (Xray) – Champion
  2. Jonathan Wilken (Xray) – Vice Champion
  3. Tyronne Wilken (Xray)
  4. Michael Rabe (Xray)
  5. Marius van Niekerk (TOP Racing)

13.5T FWD Touring

It was a father and son affair in 2016 with the Viljoens pushing each other up to the final event. It was the young Hennie Viljoen who won the championship with his father Fanie snr ending the season as vice champion.

The top 5 for 13.5T FWD Touring for 2016:

  1. Hennie Viljoen – Champion
  2. Fanie Viljoen Snr – Vice Champion
  3. Paul van der Westhuizen
  4. Christopher Dolphin
  5. Ben Kriegler