Asian On-Road Championship Rd1 report


podium 13,5 boosted

Race report by Nicholas Koh:

This is Nicholas’ KOH’s second international event after the AOC at the Yatabe Arena last November.

Nicholas was youngest participant at the event with over 130 entries; 10 sets of tires were used for practice, qualifying and race; Nicholas’s fastest lap time was 10.151’, fastest recorded time over the event was JJ Wang’s 9.9xx’. Moreover, only 1 upper chassis and one rear hub was broken during controlled practice when another car hit Nicholas’car. Nothing else was bent or broken during qualifying and the finals.

The highlight of this Shanghai round was of course, JJ Wang beating Ronald Volker’s 100% winning record of the AOC. The event also attracted well-known drivers such as world champions, Naoto Matsukura and Gilles Groskamp. Other driver highlights for touring car including Jan Ratheisky current ETS Blinky TC champion), E.C. Kim (Korean national champ), Felix Law (Hong Kong hot shot) and China’s #1 rank driver, H.F. Wang.)


It was a busy 3 days for Nicholas as I decided to register him for all 3 classes of 1/10 touring car. In a last minute decision, I used his spare car for the 13.5T Boosted category. This car was fitted with XRAY’s new aluminum chassis. Unfortunately, we did not have time to test this brand new car and it proved the hardest to drive for Nicholas. I am sure with some testing, this chassis could be the better chassis for carpet surface.

Nicholas qualified second for Blinky class A-Main. He went on and surprised everyone to finish second behind current ETS Blinky leader, Jan Ratheisky. Max Park, finished 3rd.

In Boosted class, Nicholas qualified 7th for A-Main. Due to visibility issues at the driver stand (vision was blocked by drivers beside him) he had some accidents and eventually finished 8th. Winner was again Jan Ratheisky, second went to Gavin Kwok (China) and third was Jones Chu (Taiwan), ARC owner and driver. Highlight of Nicholas’performance here was his ability to clock similar (nearest hundreth) fast lap time as Ratheisky. Again, some testing with the new aluminum chassis will no doubt improve Nicholas’ overall standing and a solution must be found so his vision is not blocked by drivers beside him. Nicholas is only 1.5m (4’10”) tall.

In Mod class, Nicholas qualified 5th for B-Main. However, strong performance in all 3 finals pushed him up to 2nd place. Winner of Mod B-Main was VBC driver, EC Kim (Korea) and 3rd was Roche driver, Gary Huang (Taiwan). It was Nicholas’ consistency that took him to the podium in this very strong field of drivers. The competition was tough as 3rd place winner was always thousandth of a second behind Nicholas and they kept swapping positions during the finals.


1/12 blinky

  1. Heng Heng – XRAY X12
  2. Lu Wenbo – XRAY X12
  3. Xiao Fu – XRAY X12
  4. Bob Peterson – XRAY X12
  5. Max Ma
  6. Marcus Ng – XRAY X12
  7. Hiro Nakatani
  8. Tatsua Hibino
  9. Ralf S
  10. Da Yan


  1. Jan Ratheisky – XRAY X1
  2. Jimmy Qian
  3. Heng Heng – XRAY X1
  4. Tsutomu Arakawa
  5. Bob Peterson – XRAY X1
  6. Sean Wang
  7. Joey Tang
  8. Scott Li
  9. Hiro Nakatani
  10. Cecil Chua – XRAY X1

1/10 13.5 boosted

  1. Jan Ratheisky – XRAY T4
  2. Gavin Kwok – XRAY T4
  3. Jones Chu
  4. Chen Ron
  5. Lao Min HAo – XRAY T4
  6. Steven PAi
  7. Jimmy Qian – XRAY T4
  8. Nicholas Koh – XRAY T4
  9. Justin Wan
  10. Liu Zi Wen

1/10 stock

  1. Jan Ratheisky – XRAY T4
  2. Nicholas Koh – XRAY T4
  3. Max Park
  4. Sean Wang
  5. Tiny Welch
  6. Sket MA – XRAY T4
  7. Patrick Perkins
  8. Asahioka Tsugutaka – XRAY T4
  9. Hao G – XRAY T4
  10. Pan Xiao

1/12 mod

  1. Naoto Matsukura
  2. JJ Wang
  3. Heng Heng – XRAY X12
  4. Lorenzo Bali – XRAY X12
  5. Per-Ola Hard
  6. Martin Skarin
  7. Angus Leung
  8. Tao Jun
  9. Huang Hua – XRAY X12
  10. Jimmy Qian


  1. Eric Koh – XRAY T4
  2. Bob Peterson – XRAY T4
  3. Martin Skarin
  4. Scott Ernst
  5. Sean Wang
  6. Ben Lai – XRAY T4
  7. Rick Wang
  8. Key W
  9. Asahioka Tsugutaka – XRAY T4
  10. Ralf S – XRAY T4

1/10 Mod

  1. JJ Wang – XRAY T4
  2. Ronald Volker
  3. Jan Ratheisky – XRAY T4
  4. Naoto Matsukura
  5. Jilles Groskamp – XRAY T4
  6. Rocket Zhang
  7. Motor King
  8. Gary Huang – XRAY T4
  9. Thomas Hui – XRAY T4
  10. Felix Law

podium mod B podium stock podium stock 01