Nitro X Cross Winter Series Rd. 4 report



Sunday 17th January saw the return of the popular Nitro X Cross winter series. Round four of the series was held by ESBRC at their track in Shrewsbury. The Grass/Dirt track was as good as could be expected for a cold and frost January morning, and after a quick inspection the race was on. With over 40 competitors braving the great British weather it was going to be a fun but an ever so muddy day!

The Track held up pretty well and as the weather is normally a great leveller the competition was close. In Round one the top two nitro drivers were separated by only 2.5seconds with Milan Dragojlovic and his Kyosho MP9 just ahead of Jon Howells with his AE. Jon went on to take TQ in the next round but Milan fought back to take the top spot in the following two rounds and took the TQ for the day and the ever important first place on the Grid, but with Jon just behind him it was going to be a close final.

In the electric class it was much the same with Stuart Harlow and Chris Lovell and his Mugen MBX7r Eco battling it out for the vital pole position. Stuart took the TQ in rounds 1 and 4 and Chris Lovell in 2 and 3, which meant it was down to FTD, which Chris Lovell just managed to get by just 3 seconds.

Onto the finals, and the weather and track were not improving so the finals were going to be tough. The B final was first up, and Sam Cobley in his Sworkz was pole and battled to the buzzer with Matt Frances, with Matt eventually taking the win. Mark Morris finished off the top 3 and got the final bump spot. The A final was a close fought contest between the top two, Milan and Jon, as it had been all day. The eventual Winner Jon(pictured below) only just held onto the top spot by 1.5seconds from Milan and Lloyd Pit also driving AE finished just behind them in third, completing the podium in Nitro.


In Electric the whole field were pretty close until the final few laps when Stuart Harlow (pictured below) and Chris Lovell pulled out a lead over the pack. After some pretty close racing Stuart managed to beat Chris to the chequered flag by only 4 seconds after 12mins. Hew Jenkins coming in 3rd after another fine drive in the series.


B Final Nitro: 3rd-Mark Morris 2nd-Sam Cobley 1st-Matt Frances
A Final Nitro: 3rd-Lloyd Pitt 2nd- Milan Dragojlovic 1st-Jon Howells
A Final Electric: 3rd-Hew Jenkins 2nd- Chris Lovell 1st-Stuart Harlow
On the day top Veteran was Jon Howells and top Jnr was Aaron Ford.

In the EBuggy series Stuart Harlow now leads from Chris Lovell in 2nd just 2 points behind. In the Nitro Series Jon is now leading by 19 points from Matt Box in second and Lloyds Pitt a further 10 points behind him in 3rd.