Lovell & Howells win NitroXCross Rd.3


Monday following Christmas saw the return of the NitroXCross Winter series Round 3 – this time at Swindon Model Car Club. The Swindon track is an interesting and quite technical 1/8th Astro Track which has now hosted the NitroXcross for its 3rd year. Each round of the series has 4 rounds of qualifying with 2 rounds to count.

In the Electric class Chris Lovell was the man to beat with his New Mugen MBX7R Eco, he took the TQ in the electric class, running his Mugen for only the second time. The Mugen UK/RC-Pit box driver has run the car twice and managed a TQ on both occasions and took the win in the class by over a lap in the 15min final, another very steady drive from Lovell with much promise to come with his new ride. Stuart Harlow and Huw Jenkins took the remaining podium places. Chris Lovell Pictured below with his MBX7R Eco.


a final e buggy

In Nitro the pace was high and Jon Howells took TQ in two rounds with Ben Billing and Tony Truman with TQ in the others so Jon lined up 1st on the grid in the A Final. Jon running the new Associated RC8B3/Top Engine/Byron Fuel took the TQ from Ben Billing and Chris Leighton both Sworkz Evo 2/Nova Rossi/Racing Experience fuel drivers. The Final was a very closely fought with some good clean driving by the eventual top two Jon Howells and Chris Leighton, who amazingly finished within half a second of each other after the 20mins, Jon just taking the win from Chris. Ben Billing ended up in third and completed the podium in the A final. Jon’s car pictured below in full flight!


a final nitro

Top Junior on the day was a promising young driver Aaron Ford who managed a very impressive 8th in the B final and top snr (over 40) was also Jon Howells. Drive of the day was by Michael Hezsely who managed to bump up 2 finals from the C to the A.

Other Results: –
D Final – 1 – Colin Davies 2 – Andy Prosser 3 – Dave Parker
C Final – 1 – Michael Hezsely 2 – Matt Francis 3 – Scott Pulley
B Final – 1 – Lloyd Pitt 2 – Michael Hezsely 3 – Sam Cobley

The current leader of the series in Nitro is Jon Howells and in Electric is Stuart Harlow with 3 rounds to go.

The series returns on January 17th at East Shrewsbury Buggy Racing Club – for more information on the series go to the website