DRCW Fall Points Series Round 1 report

Race Report by Jason Sneed
Round 1 of the 2015 DRCW Fall Points Series is in the books. There were 79 entries competing in 7 classes. The new class for this year is the “e-lite” which is a 1/8 buggy that meets a certain weight and power requirements (rules: http://www.debbiesrcworld.com/page/Rules.aspx). There were some tight races including the 2WD buggy A-main and the 4×4 buggy A-Main. Luke Igyarto and Scott Thomas battled it out in 2WD Buggy until the last lap where Luke was able to squeeze in an extra lap at the horn. In the 4×4 buggy A-Main Josh Knight got off to an early lead and never looked back. He put a lap on the entire field in his new Yokomo. That left Scott Thomas and Austin Woodyard to battle it out for second place. Scott and Austin were neck in neck until the last lap where Scott finished second and Austin third.
Team Tekno came out in force for the e-lite race. Mark Unrath took the win putting 3 laps on the field. The sportsman class is a catch all class for beginning racers and Tre Burton took the win in that race. 2WD Short Course is making a comeback this year and Bubba Lee won the A-Main with Spencer Atkinson taking a close second place. The 4X4 main was packed with 9 trucks! Donnie Ward took the win with Darius Mitchell coming in a close second. Donnie and Darius were on the same lap in this close race. Stadium Truck is also making a comeback with 8 racers competing in the main. Austin Woodyard put on a clinic winning the race by 3 laps. Igy Igyarto and Kevin Turner were making a race for second place with Igy winning by 5 seconds.
We would like to thank our sponsors for the race series: JConcepts, Team Associated, Boca Bearing, Tekin, SMC, and Venom RC Group.
The next round is Saturday October 10th. https://www.facebook.com/events/985186498204213/