Jefferies wins Schumacher BTCC Rd.1



The first round of the 2015 Schumacher BTCC was held yesterday at the awesome Cotswolds track on Kemble Airfield.  The series opener, run on Sorex 32 control tyres, saw a maximum entry of 130 drivers for the first serious race on the UK calendar. Around 80 keen drivers took up the opportunity of practice on the Saturday getting their cars dialed in for the race on Sunday.

Sundays temperatures were a little on the cool side with drivers struggling a little for traction in the early practice run after the overnight rain.  In the modified class current BRCA champion Olly Jefferies dominated qualifying taking TQ in all the rounds with veteran Chris Grainger 2nd and new Schumacher signing Elliott Harper getting it together to line up 3rd on the grid.  These three had very similar pace and really were the class of the modified field.  Paul Pinkney was next best with a solid 4th place grid position with his Mi5evo.

It the final Olly got away with Chris making a mistake on the second corner, breaking his car.  Elliott chased down Olly hard with the fastest lap of the race until and unfortunate electrical problem on the last lap caused his retirement.  So Olly took a comfortable win in the end with Chris Kerswell taking second and Stefan Chodzynski 3rd.


Top 10 Results:

  1. Olly Jefferies
  2. Chris Kerswell
  3. Stefan Chodzynski
  4. Matt White
  5. Elliott Harper
  6. Zak Smith
  7. Chris Ashton
  8. Phil Chambers
  9. Paul Pinkney
  10. Chris Granger

In the biggest 13.5T boosted class Schumacher’s Chris Gunter was top of the time sheets in qualifying ahead of current BRCA Champ Zak Finlay and another Mi5evo of new signing James Hart.  The final saw a easy flag to flag victory for Chris with Ben Putt and Jimmy Maddison taking 2nd and 3rd after an intense battle between the pair.


Top 10 Results:

  1. Chris Gunter
  2. Ben Putt
  3. Jimmy Maddison
  4. James Hart
  5. Mark Giaquinto
  6. Zak Finlay
  7. Liam Brooks
  8. Glen Westwood
  9. Mark Wallace
  10. Nathan Wilson

In 17.5T blinky class veteran midlands racer Colin Jackson took an easy victory from MB Models Michael Ball and Luke Hobson.


Top 10 Results:

  1. Colin Jackson
  2. Michael Ball
  3. Luke Hobson
  4. David Hough
  5. Richard Gorringe
  6. James Stewart
  7. John Timberlake
  8. Nigel Shaw
  9. Richard Ludlam
  10. Jack Campfield

Overall a great weekend had by all, the next round is at the seaside town of Western Super Mare, Mendip Raceway so bring your bucket and spade!

Source: Schumacher