Weatherholt doubles up at Midwest Tour


Midwest RC Tour Header

Last weekend hosted Round 1 of the Midwest RC Tour at JCP Raceway in Indianapolis, Indiana. The track held up great to over a 145 entries for the three premier 1/8 classes; Nitro Buggy, Nitro Truggy, and E-Buggy. The classes were stacked with competition, with mains all the way down to an I main in Nitro Buggy. With practice on Friday, and racing on Saturday, it brought out some of the fastest guys from Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, and Missouri. With Silver State also being held at the same time, some other heavy hitters were missing from the crowd. The program ran three 5 minute qualifiers in a qual points format, and wrapped around 3:00 A.M.

Race Report by Ryan Klemme

Derek Weatherholt from Tekno would take the TQ in Nitro Buggy while his cousin Collin Weatherholt from TLR would take TQ in E-Buggy. Birthday boy, Tyler Jones, from TLR would snatch the TQ in Nitro Truggy. It was a rough weekend in qualifying for XRAY driver Nate Jaskot who would find himself starting at the front of the pack in the F main but then he had a change of luck and made it all the way to the C main finishing just 4 seconds out of a bump spot into the B main!

image1 (10)

Derek Weatherholt in the Nitro Buggy A main was checking out with almost a lap lead with his Alpha powered Tekno buggy until a mechanical issue had him pull off early, letting the debut of the new Triton L4 engine driven by Collin Weatherholt in his TLR 3.0 buggy grab the number 1 spot followed by best friend and fellow TLR driver Tyler Jones finish in the number 2 spot after taking a 6 month break from Nitro. JCP Race director and Mugen driver, Bryan Seitz, would end up grabbing the 3rd podium spot.

image3 (3)

In Nitro Truggy it was all TLR’s Tyler Jones with his new LRP Bones Brew fueled engines laying the smack down from start to finish, Kyosho driver Shane Racer would end up in 2nd only six seconds ahead of local fast guy Brandon Hogan from Tekno taking the 3rd and final podium spot.

image2 (3)

E-Buggy was another sweep from qualifying to mains with TLR driver Collin Weatherholt putting his Dynamite power 3.0e on top in both of the 10 minute A-mains. He would put the field down 2 laps, Nate Jaskot grabbed 2nd in A1 with his XRAY, while Mugen driver Enrique Oros would take 3rd in A1, and in A2 it would be switched up by 8 tenths of a second with Enrique Oros taking 2nd and Nate Jaskot in 3rd. Based on overall time for the tie breaker it would be Nate Jaskot taking the overall 2nd spot and Enrique Oros taking 3rd place on the podium.

As with any Series the sponsors are a huge part and organizers would like to thank all of them for their support and awesome prizes they donated; Tekno RC, Pro-Line, Rocket Graphics, Raceday Hobbies, Byron Fuels, DannyB Screws, Major Art & Hobby, Fierce RC, RcRenew, Quality Motors, FTM Grip, Triton RC, Leadfinger RC, BuKu, and