2015 Jakes RC Pro Am Showdown


Showdown Main

This past weekend hosted the annual Jakes RC Pro Am Showdown at Jakes RC in Topeka, Kansas. The event is known to be one of the largest in the area, however, a record number of entries (150+) gathered from surrounding states to push this year’s event over the top. Jakes RC is a unique facility located in the back half of a popular tattoo shop (Absolute Tattoo) in the heart of downtown Topeka. Organizers provided racers with an impressive racing surface including a giant wall ride, big air supercross style catapult finish line, rhythm section, and more. 


Friday hosted a full day of practice, with the entire race program taking place Saturday. Racers began filling the facility as early as 6:00 am in preparation for a long day of racing. The pits overflowed with racers, and organizers literally re-modeled the hobby shop and surrounding areas to make room for all. Racing got underway in the early morning hours, and provided racers and spectators an action packed day of fun. Aside from the “traditional” race program, The Showdown included a Dash 4 Cash, Big Money Raffle, unique awards (such as ‘Worst Wreck’), and to top it all off…on-site smoked BBQ cooked served all day long.


After three full rounds of qualifying, and single a-mains, the 2015 Jakes RC Pro Am Showdown came to a close with the official Jakes RC trophy girls awarding the winners their well-deserved trophies.


The event was a huge success for racers and organizers alike, and is marked as a sure-bet race on many midwest racer calendars for 2016.

2015 Jakes RC Pro Am Showdown Final Results:


Stock 2wd Buggy

  1. Cole Henriksen
  2. Fred Kropf
  3. Marc White
  4. Donavan Kreie
  5. Randy Enger
  6. Alex Ybarra
  7. Jason Bond
  8. Jay Aleman


Stock 2wd Short Course

  1. Cole Henriksen
  2. Travis Slover
  3. Jonathan Kinser
  4. Chase Henriksen
  5. Jim Martley
  6. Jake Wiggs
  7. Lorne Slan
  8. Dustin Benisch


Mod 4wd Short Course

  1. Joe Garton
  2. David Johnson
  3. Marcus Carver
  4. Ashley Mccormick
  5. Andrew Horniman
  6. Marvin Henriksen
  7. Travis Slover
  8. Ron Wall


Mod 4wd Buggy

  1. Dave Alberico
  2. Jason Porter
  3. Mike Garrison
  4. Fred Kropf
  5. Noah Garner
  6. Vince Jaron
  7. Bryan Bowers
  8. Todd Sieler


Mod Stadium Truck

  1. Aaron Pierson
  2. Dustin Thompson
  3. Marc White
  4. Daniel Hooten
  5. Jason Bond
  6. Super Dave
  7. Jeremy Mauro
  8. Jay Teer


Mod 2wd Buggy

  1. Jason Porter
  2. Dustin Thompson
  3. Dave Alberico
  4. Aaron Pierson
  5. Todd Sieler
  6. Tony Leatherman
  7. Fred Kropf
  8. Jason Howell


Mod 2wd Short Course

  1. Aaron Pierson
  2. Joe Garton
  3. Bryan Bowers
  4. Ashley Mccormick
  5. Dustin Hamilton
  6. Jason Bond
  7. Alex Schell
  8. Sean Nunamaker



  1. Easton McCormick
  2. Jake Wiggs
  3. Dustin Benisch
  4. Shane Alberico
  5. Kolden Howerton
  6. Cayden Martin
  7. Michael Shoemaker
  8. Aliyison Horniman

1467309_1034034733276832_4303143035681427179_n 11021058_1034035139943458_4119812480472016060_n 11024207_1034034666610172_4446308011194709648_n 10334437_1034034633276842_2420343912612852028_n

CLICK HERE for more event photos by race photographer John Muñoz!