Beal & Green win 2014 BRCA IC titles



On the 4th and 5th of October, the final round of the BRCA 1/10th IC series was held at the Mendip circuit in Weston-Super-Mare. A total of 36 drivers took part in the meeting with 21 drivers in the 200mm class and 15 in the Sports GT class. On Sunday the first couple of qualifiers were damp, meaning that the FTD runs would be posted later on.

In Round 1, Alex Thurston and Andrew Hastings topped the 200mm and Sports GT classes respectively by making the most of the drying track. The pair again topped Round 2 with their Serpent/OS and Shepherd/Sonic machines. 2014 champions Mark Green and Glyn Beal went quickest in Round 3 with their Novarossi and OS powered Serpents. In the final round Joe Kerry and Andrew Hastings completed the fastest runs of qualifying to TQ the meeting. Alex Thurston and Mark Green qualified 2nd and 3rd overall in the 200mm class with the Top 3 separated by just 1.5 seconds. Glyn Beal and Jason Thompson put there Serpents in 2nd and 3rd for the Sports GT A Final.


In the 200mm A Final the top 3 set off in qualifying order until Lap 12 when Mark managed to pass Alex for 2nd. Over the next 20 minutes, Joe drove an excellent race to hold 1st position, only losing it during pit stops. Around the 25 minute mark, Alex had a problem which meant he would drop to 6th and allow John Zottl to complete the podium.


In the Sports GT A final there was drama even before the start as Andrew Hastings had a crash in the warm up which resulted in his engine moving and as the tone sounded, his car failed to move dropping him to dead last. This allowed Glyn into the lead with Jason in 2nd and Peter in 3rd. Around Lap 6 Adam managed to find his way into 3rd and set off in search of the leaders. Coming up to the 20 minute mark, Adam broke his car and Jason hit engine troubles allowing Peter through into 2nd and Andrew Gregory into 3rd. Andrew Hastings made a big impact on his debut to the class and despite stripping 2 more spur gears finished 8th with the fastest lap of the race.

Congratulations to Glyn Beal and Mark Green on their respective 2014 Championship titles. In the Sports GT class, Peter Hellawell and Devendra Mahatme finished runners up whilst Joe Kerry and Alex Thurston completed the podium in the 200mm class.