Caroli wins at South African 1/8 Champs


XRAY South Africa

The final round of the South African Nitro Onroad Championships was held at RC Zone Middelburg this past weekend. In the 1/8 scale class Wayne Joelson was the man to beat by taking TQ with XRAY driver Antonio Caroli having bad luck being disqualified in two of the qualifying rounds due to his car being under the minimum weight limit having lost weights during two of the qualifying rounds. Antonio made up for that in the final round by qualifying in second place and setting the fastest lap of the last round. In the finals Wayne Joelson ran out of fuel on lap 80 with Antonio Caroli taking the lead. Antonio took the win by thirteen seconds in front of a hard charging Ayrton Vermaak.

1/8 Finals Race Results:

  1. Antonio Caroli
  2. Ayrton Vermaak
  3. Wayne Joelson
  4. Willie Noordman
  5. Beyers Hatting
  6. Lieb Liebenberg
  7. Errol Warner
  8. Faizel Salie
  9. Ryan Dalton
  10. Wayne Sayers

Source: XRAY