Hubbard wins at Electric Carpet Regionals


Hubbard wins at Electric Carpet Regionals

TQ RC RACING hosted the ROAR Region 12 Regional Championships on 6-April-2014 which saw 60 competitors race in 7 different rubber or foam tyre classes at the indoor carpet track in Southern California. 

Hubbard wins at Electric Carpet Regionals

Stock Sedan:

Johnson Thai put his earlier troubles in GT10 behind him for a dominate win after starting from his TQ position. Johnson never looked back from the start as he lead every lap and added fast lap to his TQ for the class. Vincente Riveria and Calvin Simmons became the battle to watch as the two of them ran a close hard fought race with Vincente taking second and Calvin just over a half second behind in third.

  1. Johnson Thai
  2. Vincente Rivera
  3. Calvin Simmons

Hubbard wins at Electric Carpet Regionals

Super Stock Sedan:

The tightest battle for the lead all day and was a great race to cap a fine weekend of racing. TQ for the class Duy Khuong had his hands full all race with second qualifier Francis Mejia. The two pulled away from the field but Duy could not shake Francis all race with a gap of one half second the largest all race. Francis made some brave passing attempts but the two drivers raced each other cleanly and could not pull it off with Khuong taking the win just 0.081 seconds ahead of Mejia. Running a clean and solid race was Vincente Riveria who rounded out the podium in third to also take two podiums for the day.

  1. Duy Khuong
  2. Francis Mejia
  3. Vincente Rivera

Hubbard wins at Electric Carpet Regionals

Mod Sedan:

Taking the win after a race long battle was top qualifier Fred Hubbard just a few seconds ahead of second place Peter Chuu with newcomer to the class Kyle Goodwine rounding out the top three.

  1. Fred Hubbard
  2. Peter Chhu
  3. Kyle Goodwine

Hubbard wins at Electric Carpet Regionals


Pole sitter Johnson Thai ran into problems in the first lap and retired soon after leaving #2 qualifier Tony Tam with an open track ahead. Tam pushed hard and took the win but was challenged race long by eventual second place finisher Vincent Riveria. Kevin Cole ran tight with the leaders early as the three broke away from the pack to finish a solid third.

  1. Tony Tam
  2. Vincente Rivera
  3. Panda(Kevin Cole)

Hubbard wins at Electric Carpet Regionals

World GT 13.5:

Top qualifier and race winner Art Crescitelli had the field covered all day TQ’ing both rounds and lapping almost the entire field. The battle was for second and Steve Ashby came out ahead of friend and fellow Northern California racer Bill Deras making their long drive home more enjoyable.

  1. Art Crescitelli
  2. Steve Ashby
  3. Bill Deras

Hubbard wins at Electric Carpet Regionals

1/12 Stock:

12th scale stock class took to the track less pole sitter Ron Schurr who was not able to make the main. Kyle Goodwine took full advantage from his second place qualifying spot to take the early lead. However, Art Crescitelli, the World GT class winner pressured Kyle and when an opening came, took advantage for his second win of the day. Kyle finished second with 3rd place Robert Morris always in the hunt just a few seconds back. B main winner and bump up into the A, John Birmele traveling from Nevada ran as high as fourth early on to finish sixth.

  1. Art Crescitelli
  2. Kyle Goodwine
  3. Robert Morris

Hubbard wins at Electric Carpet Regionals

F1 Rubber:

F1 rubber tyre class was a test to see who could navigate the traffic better with these open wheel machines. Early leader and TQ Kevin Cole (aka: Panda) got caught up with traffic with the close following Bill Jeric that allowed third place Charles Lightfoot to grab the lead. Charles and Bill had a spirited battle but when they got slowed by traffic late in the race, the fast closing Cole took advantage to regain the lead and maintain to the finish taking his second podium for the day. Bill Jeric was able to fend off the late challenges of Lightfoot for second with Charles taking the final podium spot in third.

  1. Panda (Kevin Cole)
  2. Bill Jeric
  3. Charles Lightfoot