Ambrose wins Iceman Series Rd2


James Ambrose wins Iceman Series Rd2

The 17th of November 2013 saw the running of the second round of the A1 racing club Iceman Series. After the exceedingly wet first round it was great to turn up to the track and be greeted with a damp but puddle free track. The track was extremely greasy, but was getting drier and grip levels were raising as time went on. After open practice and everyone was booked in racing got underway bang on schedule. 2wd Buggies: This was the most popular class of the day. 11 participants battling it out on the greasy Gonerby Moor track. In qualifying it was James Ambrose, driving a Yokomo Bmax 2 MR, who was leading the field, putting in some solid performances to grab the important TQ spot. 

Taking second overall was round ones winner Jonathan Murphy. Driving his MB Models supported Yokomo into the second spot. After sitting out round 1 due to some transmission problems, Schumacher driver Robert Jaques put in some good solid performances in the remaining two rounds of qualifying to take third position overall with his Cougar SV2.

Next up was X factory driver Toby Stephenson, taking fourth overall with his X factory X6 cubed. Rounding out the top five was Lee Bunker. Lee was driving the new Xray XB4 2wd buggy which was showing some great pace despite being a car more designed for high grip conditions. The 1st leg of the A final was a very close affair. James Ambrose took the win by just over a second from Jonathan Murphy. Lee Bunker finished third only a second behind Jonathan. James took the second leg in style, posting the first ten lapper of the day. This also gave him the overall win. Jonathan unfortunately broke his car on lap two which put him out of the running. Robert Jaques, who had switched back to his original tyres from the ones he ran in leg one, kept his car on its wheels to take second in leg 2. Lee bunker added another third place to his points score.

James had already won going into leg three, so it was going to be a battle between Jonathan, Lee and Robert as to who would take the remaining spots on the podium. James and Jonathan tangled on the first lap allowing Robert to take a commanding lead over the rest of the field. Unfortunately Lee broke his car on the first lap which put him out of podium contention. Rob drove a consistent race, allowing him to stay ahead of a hard charging Johnathan, who put in some of the best laps of the race to cut the gap down to only three seconds. David Smeaton drove a great race from sixth on the grid to finish third in the leg. Rob winning the third leg of the A final meant he took second place overall. Jonathan had two second places to give him the final step on the podium. Lee bunker came fourth and David Smeaton rounded out the top five.

A Special Mention should go to Ben Challis, whose birthday it was on Sunday. Happy Birthday Benjamin!

James Ambrose wins Iceman Series Rd2

4wd Buggies: The 4wd buggy class was dominated by new to off-road racing Peter Covell. Peter driving his Schumacher Cat Sx3 won all rounds of qualifying and took an easy win in the 4wd A final.

James Ambrose wins Iceman Series Rd2

4wd Short Course Trucks: This class was again dominated by the Durango DESC410 of Charles Krontiris. Charles took maximum points in the class to cement his position at the top of the championship table.

James Ambrose wins Iceman Series Rd2

2wd Short Course Trucks: Despite the cold weather, competition in the 2wd short course truck category was hot! Mark Ashforth, who was wearing a Hawaiian shirt in memory of the great Dez Chand, wasn’t going to have it all his own way in qualifying today. Chris Houghton set the early pace in round 1 of qualifying, taking TQ Chris has only returned to racing this past year after a long break and is now showing serious pace with his Durango DESC210 truck.

Mark fought back in the final two rounds of qualifying to take the TQ spot for the finals. Chris kept up his good run of pace to take second overall. Paul Dickens had been going well in qualifying all day, taking the third spot and making it a 1-2-3 for Durango. Fourth on the grid for the finals was the associated truck of Dave Ingram. Karl Bradish, who only started racing this summer, had some great qualifying runs to line up fifth on the grid.

In the finals, Mark showed the dominance that he had displayed at round 1 of the series, taking the win in all three legs of the finals. Chris had a mechanical problem in leg 1 but managed to pick up two second places in the remaining legs to finish second overall, despite ending up in a field in the third leg! Paul Dickens took a second and two thirds to grab the final podium spot. Dave Ingram had some consistent finishes to come fourth, with Carl Massey storming up from 9th on the grid to take the fifth place spot.

Another successful Iceman round finished. Booking in has opened for round 3 and there are still enough events of the series left to be able to qualify for the championship. So if you fancy a relaxed, fun days racing on a decent sized track then please give us a try. Especially if you have a 4wd Short course truck as Charles wants some more competition! Everyone is welcome at the A1 racing club. Check out for more information and to book in for round three of the series on the 15th of December.

RIP Dez Chand.