Chris Grainger is British TC Champion


Chris Grainger is British TC Champion

Well it went down to the final race of the final round of the BRCA Touring Car Championships at the Mendip circuit. Schumacher’s Chris Grainger has battled all year with Elliott Harper for top honours. Elliott took the first two races at Cotswolds and Stafford but a win for Chris at West London and strong runner up performances keeping up the pressure on Elliott meant that going into the final round at Mendip this last weekend it was all to play for. 

Chris secured the TQ honours over the five rounds of qualifying ahead of Elliott, Thunder Power powered James Hart 3rd and the Mi5 of Colin Price 4th. After two battling legs of the A final Chris had one win and Elliott one, so going into the final race it was all to play for both the race win and also the championship win. Chris was pushed hard by Elliott through the first 2-3 minutes until a small touch on the grass from Elliott span the Durango and left him way down the field. Chris had the release of pressure allowing him to cruise to a second leg win with his team mate Colin Price behind and therefore overall win of the meeting. The win for Chris and with Elliott not able to finish second gives Chris the overall BRCA National Championship for 2013!!

It was a fantastic meeting for the team behind Chris, Colin Price had a great weekend finishing second overall with another Mi5 of Paul Pinkney 4th overall from 10th on the grid.

  1. Chris Grainger – Schumacher Mi5
  2. Colin Price – Schumacher Mi5
  3. James Hart – Xray
  4. Paul Pinkney – Schumacher Mi5
  5. Elliott Harper – Durango
  6. Stefan Chodzynski – HPI
  7. Zak Smith – Associated
  8. Ben Cosgrove – Durango
  9. Chris Kerswell – Serpent
  10. Olly Jefferies – Associated

Chris Grainger is British TC Champion

In the Pro Stock Class Zack Finlay has dominated the season and also won this race comfortably, behind him it was the battle between the two Mi5’s of Lee Price and Mark Wallace. Lee took the honours and the top bragging rights in the pro stock team with Mark Wallace 3rd and Rob West 4th, so 3 Mi5’s in the top 4 places! Schumacher’s own Mark Musgrove also making the main in 9th place.

  1. Zack Finlay – Xray
  2. Lee Price – Schumacher Mi5
  3. Mark Wallace – Schumacher Mi5
  4. Rob West – Schumacher Mi5
  5. Tony Broad – Capricorn
  6. Reece Hodges – Xray
  7. Tim Langdell – Tamiya
  8. Ben Putt – Associated
  9. Mark Musgrove – Schumacher Mi5
  10. Chris Gunter – Associated

So Zack won the overall championship with Mark Musgrove second after a great season, with Mark Wallace third. Congratulations from all at Schumacher to our excellent team on a great outdoor season!!