Inaugural Memorial Cup Win for Team HB


Inaugural Memorial Cup Win for Team HB

“2011 was a sad year in the R/C Community. We sadly lost two of the founding fathers of organised RC races; Mike Reedy, the well-known motor expert who also served for many years as IFMAR Electric Section Chairman, and Ted Longshaw, the man who created the BRCA, EFRA and IFMAR, and bought an organised structure to our sport. Quite simply, without these two men and their dedication and devotion to the sport, we would not have such a fantastic world-wide hobby.

Team HPI/HB were in attendance in the form of Ayrton Anderson and Ben Cosgrove with a special appearance by super sub Nathan Ralls of the Off-Road fame. We all arrived early Saturday morning and were greeted by a very nicely prepared track that looked very fast and flowing.

Ben and Ayrton had raced a round of the EWS winter series at the same venue earlier in the winter season so we had a little bit of knowledge going in to the event. Practice wasn’t great for either driver but we worked on car balance and tyre running in. We were both happy with the cars going into qualifying.

There were 6 rounds of qualifying with round by round points used. Ben managed to take 5 rounds in dominant fashion and followed that up with a 2nd in the first round. The new production version of the Flux Pro ESC was being used for the first time and seemed to handle absolutely everything that could be thrown in its way. The Flux Pro 10.5 motor was more than ample to power its way round the large flowing track. Ayrton had 4 second places in qualifying but would line up in 3rd for the finals as Sam Clifton took round one TQ.”

Read More…