T2’008 on Podium at UK Nationals R1



“Aldershot hosted the first round of the BRCA touring car nationals this year, which would see many new changes to the format. With the number of rounds being lowered to four, the racing has been spread over both days of the weekend, with qualifying on the Saturday and Sunday morning, before three-leg finals for all on Sunday afternoon. The control tyre had also changed, and only time would tell if there would be an improvement over the tyre used last year. Possibly the biggest change to the national series was the discontinuation of the 27t stock class. The pro-stock class was instead created to cater for drivers that did not want to enter the immensely powerful modified class.

Qualifying started with clear skies and a fully dry track, and the pro-stock drivers were the first to take to the track. At the end of the first round, local drivers Glen and Jay Westwood had taken the first two positions, but Xray driver Luke Hobson was close behind in fourth at the end of the round. The modified drivers were next onto the track and reigning national champion took the round win, followed closely by Olly Jefferies and his Hot Bodies Cyclone. Olly will be aiming for the championship win this year after finishing so close in last year’s series. Young Xray driver Elliot Harper continued his form from the winter to finish the round in third place, with another Xray driver in the form of Ben Cosgrove taking fourth.” Read More…  [Source – teamxray.com]